Field Reflection

Overall compared to last year, field in my experience has been an exceptional improvement. Unlike last year, I have been able to work on projects and go out on a work placement completely relating to what I am studying. I know it is good to try different things, but when they are very different to what I am studying it was all a little hard to relate to, which was the case last year.

I think this year was instantly better than last year because I actually had a choice of what I could choose to do, and thankfully there were projects relating to Graphic Design.

The first Field project that I undertook, Publish, was very similar to what I was doing already on my Graphic Design course. Our end goal was to produce a published material on any topic of our choice. I thought this was great because of instead of it being many week of sitting around and not producing anything to a great standard because of how disorganized and uncoordinated people were last year, I was able to do something that I enjoyed and came here to do, while producing a good piece of work, which I could potentially expand upon and develop or even use in the future.

My second field module was work placement. This was easily the best thing I have done all year. I gained so many skills in terms of direct design skills, and also people and team skill as well. By going on this placement it means that I know how the working world works full time, and this wont be a shock to me when I start having to hopefully do something like this for real. Because of this I feel I have been going from strength to strength, mainly because of the new technical skills I have acquired, making my work so much better than what it used to be but also because of the huge confidence boosts I got from myself after all the praise and compliments towards my work while on this placement. Out of both Publish and Work Placement, the work placement has had the most benefit for me as a person and a designer. I can’t reiterate enough how much more confident I am in my work and my practice now because of the skills I had learnt and the people I had met on placement, on the down side all I can say is that I wish I was able to do the placement for longer. But don’t get me wrong, Publish was a good experience as well as designing editorial published material is a skill I enjoy having and one I wish to develop further.

But as a whole from both projects I have taken skills I can take forward, both technical and social and every bit of field this year was far better than anything I did in field last year.

 

 

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

