Review of my field placement

During my time on placement I met a range of people and completed a range of different tasks which have now benefited me massively. The benefits range from improvement in social skills, to advances in my technical with programs such as Adobe Indesign and Illustrator. Not only that I now I have a clear idea of what I would like to do after university.

During my placement my expectations were met, and higher. Having already had a placement with Burningred during my A-Levels I already had a fair idea of what to expect in terms of set up and people. The one thing I wasn’t expecting was to do so much with them, which is why my expectations were more than met. By working on a huge range of diverse projects like photography shoots to promotional posters meant I got a real taste for the design industry.

During this field project I have learned about myself that I am capable of working in the design industry after I graduate, and that I should me confident with my designs and skills after the professionals at Burningred even used some of my ideas and outcomes, which was a huge confidence booster for me.

Specific skills I have learned while being on placement are things such as improvements on tools such as Indesign and Illustrator. This means I have a better understanding of how they work and feel more confident while using them in my practice to the best of my abilities. I also learned some basic camera skills and how to use lighting correctly to get the best image possible. This was extremely handy as I have to take a lot of my own photos during my time on the course. I wish that I could have developed these skills further and spent more time doing photography work, this is because as a graphic designer, if the starting image is good quality then there will be less work later on when it comes to editing.

If I was to do it again, which I am sure I will as they have already offered me time there again on work placement and some paid roles as well, I would just simply ask more question to increase my knowledge of the industry and get a bigger foot in the door as people say, and in addition to this take some more notes, in particular when doing technical things so I have them to refer back to when needed.

The placement has certainly confirmed that working with an agency is what I wish to do when I graduate. By working with an agency I have been able to work on such a range of projects meaning life was never boring there, something very different to an in house graphic designer in my opinion.

By going on this placement I feel it will impact my studies as I have got into the habit of working longer hours. This is something that I should do as it will vastly improve the outcome of my work. The only thing I wish I could have changed about the whole experience was that I wish it was longer and that I was still there now.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

