Social Media Headers for Denbigh Army Surplus

On Thursday 02/02/2017 my task was to create some social media headers promoting the brand and specific items that they were selling. This was a good task as it was something that I have never really done before, design stuff for social media consumption, so in this case it was tricky at first to get an understanding of layouts etc but was also beneficial as I now have experience in this area of design.

The first header was for a 58 Pattern Webbing’ from the period 1958- 1989. This was probably the hardest header to design as it was difficult to find stock photos from this period. This is where I came up with a solution and underlying theme of having a green overlay. This made the images slightly unclear, but also I used the colour green because it is a common colour that people associate with the army. I believe that the lines also add to army sort of feeling as well.

artboard-2artboard-1

In terms of design and layout I prefer the first image with all of the text on the right hand side. The reason behind this is because viewers can see more of the image, so get a better sense of what is happening in the image. The first one would also be better for a Facebook header, or cover photo because the profile picture on their website is placed on the left hand side of the image. The 2nd image would be more suited to twitter, but it is harder to get a clearer vision of the image because of the text. I don’t think this is a massive issue though. This is because I wanted the text of ’58 pattern webbing’ to pop out first, and I feel it does because I slightly lowered the opacity of the DAS logo, giving it a lesser hierarchic value.

artboard-2artboard-3

The top image is quite possibly my favorite that I have designed during this project because the balance between text and image works really well. In addition to this, the solider in the image is actually wearing ‘95 pattern personal load webbing,’ so all of the army equipment guru’s will be happy with this accuracy. Similar sort of story as the images above, I have made the product name slightly more vibrant giving it a bigger hierarchic value. While writing this blog post I have realised that these two designs may not be suitable for a Facebook cover photo, so depending on where they wish to use them, they might have to be changed, because in both some of the elements of the design will be covered by the Facebook profile picture.

The other images also follow a very similar theme, green overlay with the same style of bold text, jumping out to the potential buyers of the equipment, while hopefully looking professional at the same time.

Also all of these variations means that DAS can use them and apply them differently on different platforms, while still getting the same message across.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

