Creative Image for Mail Shot

Burningred have a mail shot which they send out to clients etc on a fairly regular basis, just to keep in contact and to show businesses what stuff they are/have been up to. I was asked to produce a creative image of myself as I was going to be featuring on this month mail shot.

The photograph of me came from when I was at the Rant Media shoot a week or so ago, which was very handy as it is a high quality image, meaning I could edit it how I pleased. My idea was simple, makes it look as if the photograph is being torn to reveal a secondary image underneath. For the image underneath the tear, I chose a picture I had taken of the Wales Millennium Centre, an icon build in Wales that I pass everyday to get here, the reason for me including it in the design. I also wanted to include it as I feel it has been a key part on my placement, often walking to that area when on my breaks.

In terms of quality and execution of the design I am very pleased with the outcome as I only had about an hour to complete it. But this was beneficial as it has shown me some of the short and quick time frames I have to get used to working under after university. The detail looks crisp and it stands out massively because of the colour image of the Millennium Centre over the top of the black and white image of me, hopefully, directly drawing the attention of the viewer.

The only problem I have with this is that I would have liked to have spent more time on it making it look even more realistic. I feel I could have experimented more with shadows and different blend options if I had time, hopefully adding to the realism of the rip across my body.

All in all I am very happy with what I achieved in that time, but at the same it is something that I would like to improve on and can do that just by working on quick short designs that need doing for the agency. But I am still extremely happy that I will be featuring on some of the agencies work.

me-for-mail-shot

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

