Icons for the Veteran Website

During the last few days of last weeks placement the my main task was to create some simple icons to represent:

  • Employment
  • Finances
  • Housing
  • Living Independently
  • Mental well being
  • Physical Health
  • Family and Community

I created them on Adobe Illustrator and while they all look good and have the right meanings behind the images, I feel some could be better executed that others. For example, the icons for mental well being, in particular the heads with the puzzle pieces have a good idea behind them, I believe they can be executed a bit better and be made to look more professional which is something I can focus on next week.

Some of my best ones are icons from Physical Health, housing and employment. Starting with Physical health, my favorite one from this section is the heart with the heart beat pulsing through it. I feel if one was used on the website this would be a good one because it has a clear meaning that it is about health, and the colour scheme also works really well. I also feel that the stroke and line thickness is perfect as well, just making it look that little bit more professional.

The same applies to both employment icons. The first is a work badge which is something common in a lot of work places. Again I feel the colour scheme and overall execution of this means it is one of the better outcomes. Same with the work bag under the magnifying glass, representing employment and finding a job clearly.

The last out come I am really happy with is the icon of the house with smoke coming out of the chimney. For this reason I feel like it portrays a more comforting home. Also, where the lines don’t connect I feel this makes it look more modern than the other two options.

Moving onto finance, I feel like I have created simple icons that show a clear portrayal of what is involved with finance. They could do with a little more work as some look  unfinished such as the piggy back or less modern than some of the others created. I feel this is because of a slightly less subtle colour scheme and on some images the stroke is too thin, making it in my eyes also look almost cheap.

Finally we come to independent living. This was a hard one as it was difficult to pin point an image that could solely represent it. I came up with a few such as a single sofa chair and the stick man with his hands in the air but the others seem unclear, in particular the one of the man sitting down. It almost looks like an icon for disability and in addition to this it is hard to make living independently not look like some who is lonely, which is why I feel these icons can do with a little more work next week.

I will also be working on an icon for family next week to complete the set and will update the images when ready.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

