Red Dragon Poster Development

So after I had my idea down on paper and I knew clearly what I wanted to do I cracked on with designing the main image on Photoshop. To start things off I decided on a colour pallet for the the main and umbrella. The colours I chose were a sky blue, to represent a crisp winter/spring morning and a yellow for the umbrella which compliment each other massively, drawing the viewer into the advert.

The next part was choosing the images that would be falling out from the umbrella. Because I am working for an agency that has already done a fair amount of work for the Red Dragon Centre they already had a lot of stock images I could use. This was very handy as it meant I didn’t have to scroll through pages and pages on the internet trying to find images I would want. The images were also were high quality as well, which meant I could play with scale and size and not have to worry about pixelation.

With the images, I then started randomly placing them under the umbrella. The reason for this was just so I could see how the images looked together and which would possibly compliment each other best.

This is when some issues started cropping up, the main two being when I was shown an existing design template and found I couldn’t really use the idea of the items embedding themselves in the grass because of the layout of the template and the space available in it, and then the second that all the images would have to try and represent all of the companies within the building. This made it a bit more difficult because I had change elements of my design mid way through the process.

red-dragon-feb-image

I feel like I have pulled off the idea very well and it shows clearly that there are lots of family orientated entertainment facilities, all fall under the one roof. If i’m being critical about myself, I feel I could have represented the restaurants and food places a bit more. This is because there is only a partially covered burger portraying them. I believe that the items falling look as real as they could do and will draw in the attention of the families because the huge burst of colour, making the design and more importantly, the Red Dragon Centre, look playful and fun.

Moving onto the weather elements of the design I feel they have been executed well in terms of telling the story of the transition from winter to spring. The different opacity of the snow flakes gives the poster a bit more depth, making it look more professional. IN addition to this the frosted and icy half of the umbrella reinforce the winter period. The transition to the sun is also clear which obviously shows that people can partake in the activities during any form of weather. The only issue in my opinion is that the snow flakes over crowd the design on that side, so I may have to come up with a more effective solution, but all in all I think the image i have designed has a good visual metaphor and is easy to gather inormation from while being interesting to look at. Now all I can do is wait and see what the Red Dragon Centre think.

(Also for a more final design I don’t think I will be able to post the design until it is released before half term)

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

