Penguin Book Cover Research

In Cold Blood was a novel I had never come across before so I had to research in some detail before I started putting pen to paper. I first fot to grips with the story and how it was a true sequence of events written by Truman Capote about the murders off the Clutter family in 1959.

From this point I decided to research artists who were about and recognised around the time of the murder and when the book was first published in 1966. There were a few but my favorite designer was Saul Bass. A very simple designer using silhouettes, simple shapes and a limited colour pallatte to make very unique designs. Most of his work is movie or stage production posters that he has designed. Just some of his work is included below. What I like about his work the most is the cut and paste collage vibe it has about it, almost giving it some kind of playful look and texture about it. In addition his work is very enticing because of the use of his imagery and what it portrays. Some of the images, in particular, the Rocky images are showing small amounts, but enough informative imagery to tell a some of the story and narrative to the audience. For these reasons I have chosen him as one of my main influences for this project.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

