Franklin Gothic

This is an amended version of the type specimen. With my greater knowledge of type expanding throughout the year I have been able to edit and change this, making it look more professional and giving it a better flow and context.

Because this font was originally used as a font for newspaper headlines I decided to set this one out in a similar fashion. By having the Franklin Gothic as headline at the top of the page with the designers name and the year the font was designed acting as a subheading, replicates a similar feel and set up as of a newspaper.

In addition with my new knowledge on negative space and how to use it I feel this design is far easier to follow and take in than the previous design. All of the information is the same, just placed and arranged differently, but in columns again like a newspaper which is what I was trying to replicate.

The final change is the bunch of letter on the left hand side. One comment about the previous design is that with the big characters and symbols on the edge of the page could have been arranged in a more playful manner. I feel in this new design I have done this, creating an interesting image using different characters in the process.

franklin gothic 2nd version.jpg

 

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

