Apeollo book remastered

My initial book was good for a first attempt at creating an artist book, but just needed more. So I expanded on some of the ideas to try and make them more interactive. In addition to this, because Apeollo was lacking in actual narrative content I added some fold out stars, giving a quick explanation about each scene.

These two images show what I did the front cover. Originally it was just a blank cover with Apeollo with written across it, but now I have added a colourful, eye catching design, held together with a custom made band, all of which add to the narrative side and clearly showing what the book is about.

P1040779This picture is the first two pages of the book. As you can see I have added the fold out star which gives a small explanation about the scene which is ‘take off’. In addition to this there is a small pop up alien just to make the first page a bit more interesting.

P1040780 This is the next scene in the on going story. This page initially had a fold out rocket but I changed that to a rocket that can spin around. The reason behind this is because I feel it fits the story better, and also just adds a bit of variety to the interactive side of this artist book.

P1040781.JPGOnto the next scene and this page is the most static out of them all. The reason behind this is because the book is quite small and with all of the interactive features the book was getting a bit crowded and overly fiddly, but still I included a pop up star to explain the story.

These two pages are my favorite during the whole book because of the pull up rocket, 3D pop up flag and Apeollo gorilla. The use of the string attatched to the rocket means the reader can ‘land the rocket and prepare it for take off back to Earth’. This was probably the hardest page to assemble but I had good fun in the process because it is something completely different to the rest of the scenes.

This project overall was not what I expected to be doing at all but was good fun and does get you thinking about the narrative with in most projects, and how they can be portrayed.

 

 

 

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

