A Matter of Time Edited

a matter of time new file final.

This is my edited version of my spreads and pages. The first page I changed to make it more like an opening page should be; big, bold and telling some of the narrative of the article through a visual metaphor. The main change to this page is the heading ‘A MATTER OF TIME’. By changing the font colour to black it stands out much more clearly. With the word ‘Matter’ for each character I made the colour slightly lighter to emphasise  the fact the Earth and its matter is slowly disappearing. The final edit to this page was the word ‘TIME’. I substituted the letter I for a : the symbol on a digital clock, making the word a form of expressive type, hopefully giving the front page and heading more meaning.

On the 1st double page spread I have made a couple of edits from the previous document. The first change was the subheading ‘The Alarm Bells of Climate Change’. From feedback about the last document, the subheading was a bit random and all over the place. While experimenting with different options I could use I decided to see if I could try and make it represent something to do with climate change. So the format I came up with not also fits the page well with negative space, but it also shows in my eyes cliff erosion as the length of the subheading gets shorter and shorter as you go up the cliff. It is a similar story for the start of the body copy of text. To make the design look a little more dynamic I designed it so it is getting shorter and shorter, much like reduced resources.

Moving onto the 2nd double page spread the next significant change is another subheading to break up the page, and help the flow of the readers a bit more. Before hand I felt the text was floating around, but by adding a subheading ‘The Clash of Two Worlds’, it encourages the flow of the readers eyes. It has a greater sense of hierarchy so they have an idea of what to look at first. The second change to this page is the cracks and the call out. All I did was bring one half of the call out from the top of the page to the bottom so it reads easier.

 

 

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

