Zines

A zine is a small circulating self published publication, often produced using a photocopier. On Friday our brief was to get into groups of four and create a double page spread, each on a topic we were given at random. Our topic of choice was The UK and the Eurovision Song Contest. Seeing how badly the UK always do in this competition, we decided to have some fun with and make some fun of our poor recent record.

WP_20160415_15_55_23_Pro[1]

We wanted to go for a similar style on most pages, hence the style of images and the way the text is laid out. My double page spread is the third one down an it quotes “There have been five different UK winners… BUT WHO CARES?” and to be honest who does. This was a similar theme throughout the rest of the zine. The image next t mine was a quick collage of all of the 5 contestants that had won the show. With this I wanted a clear sense of hierarchy, coupled with the who cares which has been successfully done.

The only thing I would change about the whole design is, possibly my image so it fits the same cartoon style as the rest and secondly the last page so it fits the same house style as the first three spreads.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

