Watch Magazine Layout

magzine watches.jpg

Here is a magazine spread on watches. The first thing that I notice that is different to the spread compared to my other recent posts is the dynamic approach taken with the layout. There seems to be no set structure with grids or columns, in particular the right hand page, where as on the left I can see the use of two columns, despite not being very clear. Some people will see the randomness of the layout as bad design while others will see it as a new interesting approach. I personally think it is a nice idea but would rarely design something with no structure during my practice.

There is still some common use of headings and subheadings which are used to guide the reader across the spread, but similar to the paragraph above the randomness makes for a more interesting layout.

The only other thing that stands out for me is the headline. I love how the word bold is obviosly bold but beautiful is in an elegant font, which is a basic form expressive type.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

