Interesting Magazine Layout

snowboarding layout

‘5 Legends of Whistler’ is an article in a snowboarding magazine. I personally don’t read this magazine, but what I like about this spread is how the main heading of the article is big and bold and separate from the article, instantly with the colour, drawing the readers eye to the left hand page. This interesting design is anchored even further how the heading is central, instead of being at the top of the page in a standard design.

Secondly, I love the organised layout on the opposite page with the 5 narrow columns, each with their own sub heading, condensing and making the text manageable and easier to read about each boarder. Each of these is almost like a large caption for each image above. If this magazine page didn’t have an organsied grid system, it would be difficult to follow and look extremely disjointed.

Despite the images being laid out in managed and organsied fashion, because each one depicts something slightly different and are all different sizes, makes this layout more appealing than other designs I have come across.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

