Developing Ideas

After my initial ideas I developed them further and started mock ups on inDesing and Photoshop. By doing this I was able to get a sense of what the whole design could look like in terms of scale and colour.

blog

I was happy with the way the design was going, but after some discussions I decided to change the main statement to something more specific, punchy and catchy. I came to a decision that the new statement would be ‘Design has the power to teach the future’. For this I created some new expressive type forms for the words POWER and TEACH,  I wanted these words to stand out from the rest of the statementpower type

With the word power I thought the W could be replaced by a crown to represent power, but after discussions with other peers we felt that it gave off the wrong sort of meaning, almost like a dictatorship, which is not how we saw graphics in the future, which means I have to go and rethink my design.

For the word TEACH I believe the pencils add to the expressive type, but I feel it could be stronger, or I could choose a different word. At this point in time I am thinking of changing it to the word CHANGE, like in one of my previous blog posts as I felt that th expressive type in that design gave a better visual of the word.

Now I am going to focus on pushing this design further, by giving it context and finding relative imagery.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

