Initial Ideas

This is just a photograph of all of my quick sketches and ideas for my design. With the quote “Like fashion, graphic design is always changing and shaping the future,”.  Most of the expressive type is similar throughout most of the designs, it’s just the layout and composition which are slightly different.

The word ‘fashion,’ I decided to make it look fancy by composing it in a different style to the rest of the statement. By using a serif font or handwritten font I believe this will give the word fashion a fashionable look compared to the rest of the expressive type on the page.

The next significant part of the expressive type is the word always. What I plan to do is duplicate the word a couple of times just to simply emphasise that the changes ‘always’ happening.

The next bit is the word changing. For this word all I simply did was was change the baseline, kerning, font and rotation of each letter to emphasise the change happening in graphing design.

For the word shape, all I did was composite the letters into a triangle. This was just to give the word a bit more meaning and context with in the whole design. Hopefully it makes it more interesting on the eye for the audience as well.

In all of the different layout trails I would then stick the collage of images in the design depending on the composition of the words. I’m not sure how I should scale the design, if the image should be big or small, that will depend on when I hit the computer and fiddle around with it a bit.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

