Research on Punks and positive body image

After some guidance and group discussions the group decided we should ditch the shocking posters due to a few reasons. The first being that they have already been done before so often that it gets to the point where seeing shocking imagery doesn’t have the same effect on people like it used to, making my poster designs not as effective as possible. The second reason was because we then decided that our campaign should just solely be on positive body image, while feeling comfortable in oneself and not letting the media distort your view of the “right” body image.

After these decisions I went away and did some research which lead me looking at design work by Punks. What stood out for me in these designs was not the bright colours or the way they have taken text from existing magazines and newspaper headlines, but it was the way the images have been simply edited in a contrasting style of black and white. I feel I could use this style in my posters, standing out and contrasting to the design.

Secondly I came across a positive body poster with uplifting quotes and typography. What I want to do is use the same style pastel colours this poster uses to give a more positive feeling in addition to the positive quotes I come up with. Hopefully with the contrasting punk style black and white imagery I should be able to create a more interesting, eye catching and memorable design. quote

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

