Introduction to type

Today we searched around Cardiff looking for different examples of type. Each group had to search for different examples. My group searched for ligature, Clarendon and and Fat Face, all different and less obvious font styles to find. At first we went off searching aimlessly and did end up with some which fitted the categories we were looking for. Towards the end when we were walking back to uni not really thinking about the task is when we saw some of the better examples, such as the lettering on the Star Wars poster which fitted well with Ligature. In addition in the Prince of Wales we managed to stumble across some good lettering for Fat Face, which had big chunky serifs.

If I were to do this again i would make sure I had a plan on where to go and understand specifically what I was looking for, but in the end the final result was excellent because it showed a variety of type faces which make up Cardiff as a city.

Fat Face
Fat Face
Final outcomes
Final outcomes
Ligature
Ligature
Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

