A Final Composition on Power

This is my final design based around the word ‘POWER.’ Over all I feel it went well as I was able to use most elements that were needed. Some are more obvious than others such as the Photoshop and photography elements, where as the drawing and collage parts could have been included a bit more.

As I explained in my last post this composition is meant to show that time has power over everyone which the students analysing my work understood, but understandably thought my word was time and not power, meaning I could have edited my design slightly differently to try and represent power more effectively.

With in the design I am happy with the composition of the puppet master. I like how he is central and by using a white clock face, helps to draw attention of the audience, making it a focal point of the design. But in addition to this point, looking at the puppet master along with the constructive feedback I could have included a more working class outfit on the puppet to go with the working class hat. This would be to emphasize on the amount of time spent in work has a large amount of control and power over everyday workers.

Finally, the background is a textured image layered on top of a work space in addition to the cogs. The reason for the texture was to try make the whole design appear antique much like the clock face and just to try and add another dimension to the finished piece.power finish copy

If I could go back the one thing I would change would be to include more of an obvious drawing element. The drawing I did was of a cog to show the mechanics of inside a clock. This features in the bottom right hand corner but are heavily edited on Photoshop, which takes the drawing element away.

Published by

Jacob G-D

Hi!! I'm Jake, I am 20 year old and a Graphic Communication student in my second year currently at Cardiff Metropolitan University. On this blog I will post snap shots and explanations of my work during my time at university.

Leave a Reply

